Protect yourself! If you think you’ve been targeted by a scam, click here to get information and assistance from the AARP Fraud Watch Network Helpline!
Sisters Site Logo.svg
Oh no!
It looks like you aren't logged in to the Sisters community. Log in to get the best user experience, save your favorite articles and quotes, and follow our authors.
Don't have an Online Account? Subscribe here
Subscribe

Fun and Free From AARP This Week

What's happening? Here are the activities, offerings and events in the coming days that we're excited to tell you about.

Comment Icon
fun and free activities and events from aarp
Harkiran Kalsi
Comment Icon

Looking to treat yourself, connect with new friends, enter a contest or giveaway, explore cultural and entertainment events, try something different, play a fun game or freshen up your fitness routine? Check this space or your inbox each week (a new e-newsletter issue arrives each Tuesday) for free opportunities and offerings that we think Sisters readers will enjoy.

Tips:

  • Clicking on some links below may connect you to our social media channels, our parent site aarp.org, or a related contest or giveaway on another of our channels. If you've missed one of this week's Sisters newsletter articles, check it out or add it to your reading list before you leave our site!
  • To access most events or games from AARP, you'll be prompted to complete a one-time, free registration for an aarp.org account. You DO NOT need to be a member of AARP to connect with us. With an account, the fun begins!


Here's what's happening between April 23, 2024 and May 3, 2024


Sisters From AARP Soul Sanctuary: Visit Our Members-Only Facebook Group Anytime!

You are cordially invited to join the Sisters From AARP Soul Sanctuary private Facebook group! It’s the ultimate online social media space designed exclusively for Sisters to get together and share our journeys of health, wellness and happiness in a safe, supportive, members-only environment. No drama, just a healthy daily dose of laughter, love, support and celebration created just for you by Sisters From AARP. Welcome! We look forward to meeting you!

Sisters From AARP Cultural Cues Word Search on AARP Games—Play Anytime!

This unique version of the Daily Word Search, created by the Sisters From AARP team, invites you to explore African-American culture and history in your world with featured and weekly puzzles. Become a master word searcher by discovering clues about fascinating people, places and things. Up, down, backwards and diagonal – words are hidden everywhere! How fast can you find them?

AARP Virtual Community Center

These scheduled events are online. Join from anywhere! Have a question about any event? Contact the email listed with the details for that event to connect with the team that is hosting it.

 
Healthy Living: Achieving the Six Harmonies of Tai Chi/Qi Gong
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024
4:00 p.m. ET • 3:00 p.m. CT • 2:00 p.m. MT • 1:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes

Infuse your health and fitness regimen with with tai chi/qigong movements that promote harmony and balance. The virtual class can be done in seated or standing positions.

A Virtual Visit to Longwood Gardens
Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024
5:00 p.m. ET • 4:00 p.m. CT • 3:00 p.m. MT • 2:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

If you joined us for the Christmas tour, you know this mesmerizing virtual visit to Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania is not to be missed. Explore how the land of this beautiful public garden was once home to the native Lenni Lenape tribe, and how Quaker farmers transformed it into a magnificent property enjoyed by more than a million guests each year.

Write to Wellness, Part 1: Crafting Connections
Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024
2:00 p.m. ET • 1:00 p.m. CT • 12:00 p.m. MT • 11:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 90 Minutes 

Science says having positive social ties is good for you. So flex your creative writing chops and reflect on what connection and kindness means to you. Part of the writing exercise is a mindfulness practice that will help you express gratitude to a kindhearted person in your life.

Dance Fitness: Let’s Cha-Cha-Cha!
Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024
5:30 p.m. ET • 4:30 p.m. CT • 3:30 p.m. MT • 2:30 p.m. PT
Duration: 30 Minutes 

The rhythm is gonna get you in this Latin-infused cha-cha dance class. And add some festive flair to your workout wear for the lively dance party at the end of the class.

Yoga and Mindfulness for Relaxation
Thursday, Apr 25, 2024
1:00 p.m. ET • 12:00 p.m. CT • 11:00 a.m. MT • 10:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 45 Minutes

Find your Zen with gentle movements and yoga postures tailored to improve flexibility, strength and mobility (appropriate for all skill levels). Also learn mindfulness techniques you can use to find calm off the mat in your daily life.

Music Streaming: Discover Pandora
Thursday, Apr 25, 2024
12:00 p.m. ET • 11:00 a.m. CT • 10:00 a.m. MT • 9:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 90 Minutes 

Learn how to access your favorite music and podcasts for free! In this hands-on virtual class you will get a comprehensive introduction to using the free features of the music-streaming service Pandora on your desktop browser. You’ll learn how to create an account; how to navigate the streaming service; and how to customize "radio" stations to match your preferences.

Fitness Friday: A Strength & Conditioning Workout for All
Friday, Apr 26, 2024
10:00 a.m. ET • 9:00 a.m. CT • 8:00 a.m. MT • 7:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes

Let’s get physical! Led by instructor DaShaun Johnson, this total body strength and conditioning home workout is appropriate for all fitness levels and designed to help you build stronger muscles and bones, and increase your heart rate. Light weights, water, a towel and comfortable clothing are recommended.

Cooking Class: Cajun Pasta With Vegan Sausage
Friday, Apr 26, 2024
12:00 p.m. ET • 11:00 a.m. CT • 10:00 a.m. MT • 9:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Expand your meatless Monday options with this tasty Cajun pasta with vegan sausage dish. Registered participants will receive the recipe ahead of time, and you can download a list of ingredients before the class.

Mindful Movement for Healthy Aging
Monday, Apr 29, 2024
12:00 p.m. ET • 11:00 a.m. CT • 10:00 a.m. MT • 9:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Soothe your achy muscles and improve your balance with this online class guided by a master certified yoga instructor. The gentle and mindful movements incorporated from yoga, Pilates and functional medicine can be performed both seated and standing, to improve your core strength and ease of mobility. If you have them, have a yoga strap (alternatively a rolled up towel will do the trick), yoga block and Pinky Ball on hand.

Women in Leadership: Moguls & Motherhood
Tuesday, Apr 30, 2024
6:00 p.m. ET • 5:00 p.m. CT • 4:00 p.m. MT • 3:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Tune in for an insightful virtual conversation with successful women in the fields of health, arts and consulting for a lively roundtable chat about balancing work and family, and more. Panelists include Paris Thomas, executive director of Equal Hope, an organization dedicated to eliminating health inequities; and Heather Ireland Robinson, executive dIrector of Jazz Institute of Chicago.

Try a Low-Impact Zumba Class
Wednesday, May 1, 2024
11:00 a.m. ET • 10:00 a.m. CT • 9:00 a.m. MT • 8:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Ease your way into Zumba with this less intensive, joint-friendly dance workout for older adults. But don’t worry, this Zumba Gold class still features dance moves to Latin grooves, without sacrificing any of the fun.

Yoga and Mindfulness for Relaxation
Thursday, May 2, 2024
1:00 p.m. ET • 12:00 p.m. CT • 11:00 a.m. MT • 10:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

The gentle movements and yoga postures of this online yoga workout promise to help improve both physical and mental well-being. Plus, learn mindfulness techniques you can use to find calm off the mat in your daily life.

Zoning 101: How It Influences Livability
Thursday, May 2, 2024
4:00 p.m. ET • 3:00 p.m. CT • 2:00 p.m. MT • 1:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 45 Minutes 

In some communities, the lack of walkability, opportunity and livability stems from zoning and development decisions that intentionally separated people by race, faith, ethnicity or income. If you live in a community like this, learn how to take steps towards change.

A Virtual Hatha Yoga Class for All
Friday, May 3, 2024
11:00 a.m. ET • 10:00 a.m. CT • 9:00 a.m. MT • 8:00 a.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Yoga can help you increase flexibility, improve balance, stability and muscle tone, and help to reduce chronic pain. So sign us up! Here, you’ll be guided in the gentle postures of Hatha yoga, which are typically held longer and practiced more slowly. No experience is necessary. A yoga mat or blanket, bolsters and yoga blocks may be helpful.

Friday Jam: Make Music for Brain Health
Friday, May 3, 2024
3:00 p.m. ET • 2:00 p.m. CT • 1:00 p.m. MT • 12:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 60 Minutes 

Join this virtual Friday jam session and explore the ways you can use music to enhance your daily life and well-being.  Plus, learn about the six pillars that support healthy brain function–from eating right and managing stress to getting high-quality sleep. You don’t need an instrument or any prior music experience. 
But feel free to bang a drum or another instrument if you have one!

Follow Article Topics: We-Time